Sunday, November 06, 2011

ARRL Announces Winter W1AW Schedule

W1AW, the League Headquarters station in CT, is good for propagation checking, solar bulletins, and testing digital software.  With the move back to Standard Time in the US, the following schedule is now in effect:

With the switch from Daylight Saving Time to Standard Time, W1AW Station Manager Joe Carcia, NJ1Q, has updated the W1AW operating schedule to reflect the change. Your local standard times have not changed, but the UTC times they reference have.

Daily Visitor Operating Hours:
1500 UTC-1700 UTC (10 AM-12 PM EST), 1800 UTC-2045 UTC (1 PM-3:45 PM EST)
Station closed 1700-1800 UTC (12 PM-1 PM EST)

Morning Schedule
Time Mode Days
1400 UTC (9 AM EST) CWs Wed, Fri
1400 UTC (9 AM EST) CWf Tue, Thu

Afternoon/Evening Schedule
Time Mode Days
2100 UTC (4 PM EST) CWf Mon, Wed, Fri
2100 UTC (4 PM EST) CWs Tue, Thu
2200 UTC (5 PM EST) CWb Daily
2300 UTC (6 PM EST) Digital Daily
0000 UTC (7 PM EST) CWs Mon, Wed, Fri
0000 UTC (7 PM EST) CWf Tue, Thu
0100 UTC (8 PM EST) CWb Daily
0200 UTC (9 PM EST) Digital Daily
0245 UTC (9:45 PM EST) Voice Daily
0300 UTC (10 PM EST) CWf Mon, Wed, Fri
0300 UTC (10 PM EST) CWs Tue, Thu
0400 UTC (11 PM EST) CWb Daily

CW: 1.8025, 3.5815, 7.0475, 14.0475, 18.0975, 21.0675, 28.0675 and 147.555 MHz
Digital: 3.5975, 7.095, 14.095, 18.1025, 21.095, 28.095 and 147.555 MHz
Voice: 1.855, 3.990, 7.290, 14.290, 18.160, 21.390, 28.590, 147.555 MHz

CWs: Morse code practice (slow) -- 5, 7.5, 10, 13 and 15 WPM
CWf: Morse code practice (fast) -- 35, 30, 25, 20, 15, 13 and 10 WPM
CWb: Morse code bulletins -- 18 WPM

CW frequencies include code practices, Qualifying Runs and CW bulletins.

Digital: BAUDOT (45.45 baud), BPSK31 and MFSK16 in a revolving schedule.

Code practice texts are from QST; the source of each practice is given at the beginning of each practice and at the beginning of alternate speeds.

On Tuesdays and Fridays at 2330 UTC (6:30 PM EST), Keplerian elements for active amateur satellites are sent on the regular digital frequencies.

A DX bulletin replaces or is added to the regular bulletins between 0100 UTC (8 PM EST) Thursdays and 0100 UTC (8 PM EST) Fridays.

In a communications emergency, monitor W1AW for special bulletins as follows: Voice on the hour, Digital at 15 minutes past the hour and CW on the half hour.

All licensed amateurs may operate the station from 1500 UTC-1700 UTC (10 AM-12 PM EST), and then from 1800 UTC-2045 UTC (1 PM-3:45 PM EST) Monday through Friday. Be sure to bring your current FCC Amateur Radio license or a photocopy.